Home>Support>menu link to open in new tab does not work

menu link to open in new tab does not work

I have the checkbox in the menu link ‘catalogus’ checked with open in new tab, but it doesn’t work (site :www.vanhoofdameskleding.be)

It does work on an identical testsite I use, and I can’t find any reason why it doesn’t work on the other side.

Thanks for any possible reasons, things to check,

This is our free support forum. Replies can take several days. If you need fast email support, please purchase a SiteOrigin Premium license.

  1. 10 days, 18 hours ago Alex S Hi, I Work Here

    Hi Paul,

    You have something present on your website that’s attaching itself to the catalogus menu item and tracking the outbound link. This could be preventing the link from opening in a new tab correctly. Can you please temporarily disable that tracking to verify if this is the case or not?

    If disabling that link tracking doesn’t help, can you try disabling all non-SiteOrigin plugins and see if this fixes the issue? You’ll need to clear all your caches after disabling your plugins.

    If it does fix the issue, then try re-enabling your plugins one by one until the issue comes back. This procedure will help diagnose which plugin is causing the issue.

    Once we know that, we’ll be able to look at what might be causing the conflict and either solve the problem or help you find an alternative plugin.

  2. 10 days, 18 hours ago paulpeeters

    Thanks Alex for your help,

    I don’t know what this tracking could be, so I don’t know what to do to disable.

    If I add another link to the menu which refers to another website and add the option to open in a new tab, then it works. Has it something to do with the catalogue site ?

    Kind regards,

  3. 10 days, 18 hours ago Alex S Hi, I Work Here

    Hi Paul,

    Unfortunately, I’m not too sure what is adding the tracking code so I would recommend running the aforementioned plugin conflict test to identify which plugin is adding the tracking code.

    Has it something to do with the catalogue site ?

    I’m not too sure. It’s possible, but I would need to know more about what is adding the tracking code as that’s likely what is causing this.

  4. 10 days, 11 hours ago paulpeeters

    Hallelujah, I found it, it was the WP essentials plug-in ! Thanks for your help !

  5. 10 days, 10 hours ago Alex S Hi, I Work Here

    Hi Paul,

    Great to hear! Unfortunately, it doesn’t appear WP Essentials is supported anymore so it’s unlikely this will be fixed. It’s not ideal, but I would recommend looking for alternative plugins.

    Please be sure to post another thread if you have any other questions.

Replies on this thread are closed. Please create a new thread if you have a question, or purchase a SiteOrigin Premium license if you need one-on-one email support.

Get The Most Out of SiteOrigin with SiteOrigin Premium

Find Out More