Home>Support>want to change the background image of 1 page without changing the background image of all pages

want to change the background image of 1 page without changing the background image of all pages

By boudreaupaul, 10 years ago. Last reply by Andrew Misplon, 10 years ago.

This is probably not really specific to your theme. Sorry but i’m relatively new to working on websites but i am trying to learn.

What i’m wanting to do is change the background image of a single page. I’ve tried looking at the customize option but that seems to change the background image of all the pages on the site. I’m looking to leave the main page with no image and one of my sub-pages with a background image.

Could anyone give me some guidance on this?

Thank you very much in advance,
Paul

This is our free support forum. Replies can take several days. If you need fast email support, please purchase a SiteOrigin Premium license.

1. 10 years, 1 month ago Andrew Misplon
    Hi, I Work Here

Hi Paul

Please let us know which theme you’re looking to do this with and we’ll try help out with some Custom CSS.

Thanks

2. 10 years, 1 month ago Paul Boudreau

Andrew

I believe i am using the vantage theme

PS i cant login with my original login. Using the forgot password doesn’t send an email to me.

3. 10 years, 1 month ago boudreaupaul

ok. nm on the password issue. it finally sent me a reset email

4. 10 years, 29 days ago Andrew Misplon
    Hi, I Work Here

If you inspect the source code for any page you’ll find a body tag near the top. Within that body tag is a unique page class you’ll need to use that page class to prefix the #main container to run a background image for a particular page.

So for example if it were this page, right here on the forum, we’d insert the following under Appearance > Custom CSS:

.postid-3621 #main {
    background-image: url("http://localhost/so/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/wallpaper-2677423.jpg");
    }