Home>Support>Site crashed

Site crashed

By Ruth, 9 years ago. Last reply by Greg Priday, 9 years ago.

I administrate a site that uses several plugins, SiteOrigin’s PageBuilder among them (running on Customizr theme). Yesterday the site crashed completely – nothing…white screen! I contacted the hosting company who told me that it was the pagebuilder plugin that was causing this. I’m not a techie person but I don’t get this – why would the plugin suddenly cause a problem when it had been working fine?! Anyway, the hosting company guys disabled the plugin for me (and reset the permalinks) and now the site is running. Of course, the pages that used PageBuilder now look pretty naff. My question is, are you aware of this problem – do you think it IS a problem or was the hosting company fobbing me off with an excuse? Do you think it’s safe to reactivate PageBuilder? Thanks!

URL: http://www.therobgeorgefoundation.co.uk

This is our free support forum. Replies can take several days. If you need fast email support, please purchase a SiteOrigin Premium license.

1. 9 years, 7 months ago Greg Priday
    Hi, I Work Here

Hi Ruth

Could you ask your hosts for the PHP error message? This would be a huge help in diagnosing and fixing the issue – if it was in fact with Page Builder.

2. 9 years, 7 months ago Ruth

Hi Greg

Thanks for the response. I’ve asked the hosts for the PHP error message. What I got back was pages and pages of code. I’ve copied and pasted a sample below (if you need more, please say) but I’ve been through it and although I can see an error with gallery-slider plugin, I can’t see any mention of PageBuilder in the error code. So I guess they were lying to me….right?!!! If that’s the case, I’ve disabled PageBuilder and messed up my pages for no reason at all. Anyway, if you wouldn’t mind just confirming that my assumptions are correct, then I can reactivate PageBuilder and start formatting my pages again.